a service organization

Talented Eagle Scout Builds Project for Gilbert

A new work of art on display inside the Gilbert Court House is resting on a wooden base that is a work of art in itself, and its donor may be surprising.  A 13-year-old Gilbert resident named Casey Benson handcrafted a wooden display stand for the court’s eagle statue and earned his rank as Eagle Scout in the process.

“I love wood-working,” said Benson, “my dad does it, my grandpa does it.  I wanted something that I could look back on after I made it.”

With help from friends and family members, Benson worked with the Human Relations, Culture and Arts Promotion Commission (HRCAP) to design, cut, carve, and paint the base before it went on display.  He says the hardest part of the process was presenting the idea to the board.  While public speaking is not his strong suit, woodworking has been his hobby for years.  Court staff members say the display stand speaks for his talent.

“I knew it would be quite nice but I was not expecting how elegant it looked how professional it looked,” said court administrator Susie Hollifield. “It was nice to be approached and to see the good in the community and to see a young person motivated and wanting to do something for the community.”

Benson was recognized for his work at a Town Council Meeting on January 17th.  The stand is still on display on the first floor of the Gilbert Municipal Court.

Comments are closed.